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Open Burning, Bonfires, Recreational Fires and Portable Fireplaces 
Rules & Regulations 

 
Open Burning:  The burning of materials wherein products of combustion are 

emitted directly into the ambient air without passing through a stack or 
chimney from an enclosed chamber. Open burning does not include road 
flares, smudge pots and similar devices associated with safety or 
occupational uses typically considered open flames, recreational fires or use 
of portable outdoor fireplaces.  

A. A permit is required from the Anderson Fire & Rescue Department at 
least 10 days in advance of the fire in accordance with rule 1301:7-7-
01 of the Administrative Code prior to kindling a fire for recognized 
silvicultural or range or wildlife management practices, prevention or 
control of disease or pests, or a bonfire. Application for such approval 
shall only be presented by and permits issued to the owner of the land 
upon which the fire is to be kindled. 

 1) If commercial in nature, a permit is required from the Ohio EPA 
(513) 946-7743 which will need to be obtained and submitted 
with the application for open burning to the fire department.  
Ohio EPA permits require 10 days for processing as well as 
1,000 feet to the nearest inhabited structure not located on the 
premises. 

B. Where required by state or local law or regulations, open burning 
shall only be permitted with prior approval from the state or local air 
and water quality management authority, provided that all conditions 
specified in the authorization are followed.  

C. Open burning that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke 
emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances 
make such fires hazardous shall be prohibited. 

D. The fire code official is authorized to order the extinguishment by the 
permit holder, another person responsible or the fire department of 
open burning that creates or adds to a hazardous or objectionable 
situation. 
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E. The location for open burning shall not be less than 150 feet from any 
structure, and provisions shall be made to prevent the fire from 
spreading to within 50 feet of any structure. 

  1) Exceptions: 

 i. Fire in approved containers that are not less than 15 feet 
from structure. 

ii. The minimum required distance from a structure shall be 
25 feet where the pile size is 3 feet or less in diameter and 
2 feet or less in height. 

 

Bonfire: An outdoor fire utilized for ceremonial purposes and has a total fuel 
area of 5 feet or less in diameter and 5 feet or less in height. 

A. A permit is required from the Anderson Fire & Rescue Department – 
application for same should be made at least 10 days in advance of 
the fire. 

B. A bonfire shall not be conducted within 50 feet of a structure or 
combustible material unless the fire is contained in a barbecue pit. 
Conditions which could cause a fire to spread within 50 feet of a 
structure shall be eliminated prior to ignition. 

C. A bonfire that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke 
emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances 
make such fires hazardous shall be prohibited. 

D. Fire burns no longer than 3 hours 

E. Burn only clean, dry seasoned firewood – may not be used for waste 
disposal (including yard waste). 

 

Recreational fire: An outdoor fire burning materials other than rubbish where 
the fuel being burned is not contained in an incinerator, outdoor fireplace, 
portable outdoor fireplace, barbecue grill or barbecue pit and has a total fuel 
area of 3 feet or less in diameter and 2 feet or less in height for pleasure, 
religious, ceremonial, cooking, warmth, or similar purposes. 

A. No notification or permit is required for this use. 

B. Recreational fires shall not be conducted within 25 feet of a structure 
or combustible material. Conditions which could cause a fire to 
spread within 25 feet of a structure shall be eliminated prior to 
ignition. 
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C. Burn only clean, dry seasoned firewood – may not be used for waste 
disposal. 

D. A recreational fire that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke 
emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances 
make such fires hazardous shall be prohibited. 

 

Portable outdoor fireplace: A portable, outdoor, solid-fuel-burning fireplace 
that may be constructed of steel, concrete, clay or other noncombustible 
material. A portable outdoor fireplace may be open in design or may be 
equipped with a small hearth opening and a short chimney operating in the 
top. 

A. Portable outdoor fireplaces shall be used in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions and shall not be operated within 15 feet 
of a structure or combustible material. 

  1) Exception: 

 i. Portable outdoor fireplaces used at one-and two-family 
dwellings. 

 

General Burning Requirements 
1. The permit(s), if required, must be present at the site for the duration of the 
fire and the fire must take place at the location specified on the issued 
permit(s). 

2. Any person who starts a fire is responsible for all suppression costs and 
possible liability from damage caused by the fire.  If you decide to burn, choose 
to do so under conditions that minimize health and safety risks. 

3.  Required clearance distances from structures must be 
strictly followed, as should the duration limitations of the 
burn. 

3. Opening burning, bonfires, recreational fires, and portable 
outdoor fireplaces shall be constantly attended by a 
responsible adult until the fire is extinguished - all children and pets should be 
kept at a safe distance. 

 

4. A minimum of one portable fire extinguisher with a minimum 4-A rating or 
other approved on-site fire-extinguishing equipment, such as dirt, sand, water 
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barrel, garden hose or water truck, shall be available for immediate utilization 
in the immediate vicinity of the fire. 

5. Any outdoor burning that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke 
emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances make such 
fires hazardous shall be prohibited.  The fire code official is authorized to order 
the extinguishment by the permit holder, another person responsible or the fire 
department of outdoor burning that creates or adds to a hazardous or 
objectionable situation – this is applicable to all types of fires. 

6. Wind speed and direction must be considered. Fires should not be ignited 
when current or forecasted wind speeds are greater than 10 mph.  Potential for 
wind gusts should also be considered.  Smoke can cause immediate public 
health risks and create a hazard by impairing visibility on public roadways.  
Fires lit at night or early evening are subject to inversions which cause the 
smoke to pool in low-lying areas. 

7. The fire shall not be utilized for waste disposal (including yard waste). 

Contact the fire department (513) 688-8400 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., 
but in advance of the fire ignition, to advise them of your intent to burn with 
times and location of intended burn and advise that you have been issued a 
permit. 

If a permit is required from the Anderson Township Fire Department, the 
application for the permit and a $35 permit fee must be filed at least 10 days in 
advance of the planned fire at the Anderson Government Center, 7850 Five 
Mile Road. Fuel shall consist of seasoned dry firewood.  Strictly adhere to the 
distance requirements relative to other structures. 

Helpful links: 

Hamilton county Environment Services 

Ohio EPA 

Ohio Administrative Code - 3745-19 

Ohio Revised Code - 1503.18 

Anderson Township Fire - Life Safety 
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